New Additions to Our Collection

We are adding new books, movies, audiobooks, and music to our collection all the time. Check here each month to find the latest additions.

March 2021 | New Additions to Our Adult Collection

 

New Fiction

 

The Beirut Protocol by Joel C. Rosenberg

In the fourth installment of Rosenberg’s gripping new series, Marcus Ryker finds himself in the most dangerous situation he has ever faced—captured, brutalized, and dragged deep behind enemy lines. Should he wait to be rescued? Or try to escape? How? And what if his colleagues are too wounded to run?

 

Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro

Klara and the Sun, the first novel by Kazuo Ishiguro since he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, tells the story of Klara, an Artificial Friend with outstanding observational qualities, who, from her place in the store, watches carefully the behavior of those who come in to browse, and of those who pass on the street outside. She remains hopeful that a customer will soon choose her.

 

Hush by James Patterson

Top cop, devoted sister, and now Inmate 3329: even prison bars won’t stop Harriet Blue from seeking justice for the murder of her brother.

 

A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes

This is a gorgeous retelling of the Trojan War from the perspectives of the many women involved in its causes and consequences.

 

Double Jeopardy by Stuart Woods

Stone Barrington is settling in for a stretch in New York when he receives news that demands immediate action. An old family matter has unexpectedly resurfaced, and Stone must decamp to the craggy shores of Maine to address the issue head-on.

 

Eternal by Lisa Scottoline

Unfolding over decades, Eternal is a tale of loyalty and loss, family and food, love and war–all set in one of the world’s most beautiful cities at its darkest moment.

 

Later by Stephen King

Sometimes growing up means facing your demons.

 

The Bar Harbor Retirement Home for Famous Writers (and their muses) by Terri-Lynne DeFino

A whimsical, moving novel about a retirement home for literary legends who spar, conjure up new stories, and almost magically change the lives of the people around them.

 

The Lighthouse by Jessie Newton

After the death of a childhood loved one, 5 best friends reunite in the small coastal town of Five Island Cove. One doesn’t expect to find love with a high school crush. Another isn’t prepared to find the strength she needs to take control of her life. And none of them are ready for the secrets they’ll uncover at the lighthouse…

 

A Burning by Megha Majumdar

 An electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise – to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies – and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

 

A Northern Spy by Flynn Berry

A riveting story of two sisters who become entangled with the IRA.

 

The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston

An antique shop haunted by a ghost. A silver treasure with an injustice in its story. An adventure to the past she’ll never forget. 

 

 

Nonfiction:

The Code Breaker by Walter Isaacson

The bestselling author of Leonardo da Vinci and Steve Jobs returns with a gripping account of how Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna and her colleagues launched a revolution that will allow us to cure diseases, fend off viruses, and have healthier babies.

 

Deer Isle’s Undefeated America’s Cup Crews by Mark J Gabrielson

A thrilling tale fit for sailing experts and history buffs alike, historian Mark J. Gabrielson delivers the exciting tale of the Deer Isle Crew: a sailing story that offers an uncommon glimpse into American life at the turn of the twentieth century.

 

Kneeling Orion, poems by Kate Barnes Story-poems of rural Maine, of neighbors, of seasons, and of life lived slowly and fully.

 

The Doctors Blackwell by Janice P. Nimura (Bio)

This richly researched new biography celebrates two complicated pioneers who exploded the limits of possibility for women in medicine. As Elizabeth herself predicted, “a hundred years hence, women will not be what they are now.”

 

Through Woods and Waters by Laurie Apgar Chandler (Bio)

The author followed age-old waterways into the upper watershed of the Penobscot River’s East Branch, then descended its wild waters and quiet byways through the heart of the monument. Hers is a story of shared discovery, highlighting the region’s rich history and natural wonders.

 

This Day in Maine by Joseph Owen

The story of Maine is a compelling journey through time and it is told here just like it unfolded-day-by-day.

 

Pemaquid Point Lighthouse by Trudy Irene Scee

Scee uncovers the fascinating story of this iconic Maine lighthouse, its keepers and their families, from the construction of the first light through the present day.

 

Maine Hikes Off the Beaten Path by Aislinn Sarnacki

Sarnacki presents 35 hikes around the state that will let you experience the Maine wilderness.

 

Maine at 200 by Tom Huntington

In this highly readable survey, historian Tom Huntington covers the course of Maine’s rich and often turbulent history, focusing on key events decade by decade.

 

 

Large Print:

Greyboy by Cole Brown

Greyboy: Finding Blackness in a White World asks an important question: What is Blackness? It also provides the answer: Much more than you thought.

 

The Lost Jewels by Kristy Manning

From the author of The Song of the Jade Lily comes a thrilling story of a family secret that leads to a legendary treasure.

Why would someone bury a bucket of precious jewels and gemstones and never return?

 

Rise Up by Reverend Al Sharpton

Beginning with a foreword by Michael Eric Dyson and closing with Rev. Al Sharpton’s moving eulogy for George Floyd, Rise Up is a rousing call to action for our nation, drawing on lessons learned from Reverend Al Sharpton’s unique experience as a politician, television and radio host, and civil rights leader.

 

 

Science Fiction:

Wild Sign by Patricia Briggs

Mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham must discover what could make an entire community disappear–before it’s too late—

 

The Witch’s Heart by Genevieve Gornichec

When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive national bestselling debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.

 

Mystery:

A Matter of Life and Death by Phillip Margolin

Attorney Robin Lockwood must face her most challenging case yet, with everything stacked against her client and death on the line.

 

An Incomplete Revenge by Jacqueline Winspear

In her fifth outing, Maisie Dobbs, the extraordinary Psychologist and Investigator, delves into a strange series of crimes in a small rural community

 

Becoming Inspector Chen by Qiu Xiaolong

Inspector Chen is excluded from a poetry case as he awaits possible disciplinary action, leaving him to reflect on his career . . . but does his past hold a clue to the poetry case?

 

Tricky by Josh Stallings

More than a police procedural, Tricky explores questions of human nature: Whether a man can change, for better or worse, and whether redemption is possible.

 

Murder in an Irish Bookshop by Carlene O’Connor

 Travel to County Cork in Ireland to solve a bookish mystery full of twists in a cozy whodunit perfect for fans of  Sheila Connolly, Kate Carlisle, and Laura Childs.

 

The Silenced Women by Frederick Weisel

Mahler and his team are fighting on two fronts to discover who stole the very breath from these women, and to stop the killer before he silences another victim.

 

Trace Elements by Donna Leon

When a dying hospice patient gasps that her husband was murdered over “bad money,” Commissario Brunetti softly promises he and his colleague, Claudia Griffoni, will look into what initially appears to be a private family tragedy. Brunetti comes to realize the perilous meaning in the woman’s accusation and the threat it reveals to the health of the entire region. 

 

Short Story:

Land of Big Numbers by Te-Ping Chen

Gripping and illuminating…. At the heart of Te-Ping Chen’s remarkable debut lies a question all too relevant in 21st century America: What is freedom?” (Jennifer Egan)

 

 

Audiobooks:

Serpentine by Jonathan Kellerman

Psychologist Alex Delaware and Detective Milo Sturgis search for answers to a brutal, decades-old crime in this electrifying psychological thriller from the master of suspense.