Chats with Champions

This popular program brings outstanding members of the literary world, arts, and sciences to Skidompha to present programs that are free and open to the public. While the series’ emphasis is on top-notch authors, programs often appeal to a much wider audience.  

The widely diverse roster of exceptional programs has included bestselling, prize-winning authors, chefs, mystery writers, scientists, wildlife experts, artists, historians, criminologists, musicians and much more!

Brought to you by generous contributions from 

Missed a Chat? Check out our YouTube Page for recorded and archived programs!

Up Next: Haitian Topics – February 21, 2019

Chats with Champions is a free community offering from your national award-winning Skidompha Library and is sponsored by Sherman’s Maine Coast Book Shop. Recordings of many previous Chats are available on Skidompha Library’s YouTube.com page. For more information call 563-5513 or online at www.skidompha.org   

CHATS CALENDAR OF UPCOMING GUESTS

Check this page and our calendar for the schedule of presentations and for more information about each speaker. Unless noted otherwise, all programs begin at 10 am.

  • February 21, 2019 (Thursday) – Haitian Topics
  • March 14, 2019 (Tuesday) – Bob Emmons: Irish Potato Famine
  • March 28, 2019 (Thursday) – Kay Hardy Campbell: Caravan of Brides – a Novel of Saudi Arabia
  • April 2, 2019 (Thursday) – Lisa Steele-Maley: Without a Map – A Caregiver’s Journey through the Wilderness of Heart and Mind
  • April 16 (Tuesday) – Mac Smith: Mainers on the Titanic
  • April 30 (Tuesday) – Dean Rock: 3-D Prosthetic Devices
  • May 7 (Tuesday) – Tim Hudson: Katahdin Woods and Water
  • May 14 (Tuesday) – Ann Gass: We Demand – America’s First Cross-Country Automobile Trip for a Cause
  • May 21 (Tuesday) – Christopher Leighton: Institute for Islamic, Christian, and Jewish Studies
  • June 4 (Tuesday) – Peter Kinney: Camino de Santiago
  • June 6 (Thursday) – Mark Alan Leslie: Ku Klux Klan in Maine
  • July 11 (Thursday) – Arlie Russell Hockschild: Strangers in Their Own Land
  • July 18 (Thursday) – Mark Peterson: Health Care in America
  • September 5 (Thursday) – Bob Hills: Iceland